Il tuo carrello

Il vostro carrello è vuoto!

Scopri i nostri bestseller
Subtotale0 Articoli0
Visualizza il carrello
Sold Out
Informarsi presso il negozio TASCHEN più vicino.

Christo and Jeanne-Claude. The Floating Piers. Art Edition No. 1–20 (Wrapped Book)

Edition of 20Original artwork in tarpaulin, 32 x 30 x 8 cm (12.6 x 11.8 x 3.1 in.), accompanied by hardcover volume in slipcase, 29 x 27 cm (11.4 x 10.6 in.), with piece of original project fabric, 846 pages35000Edizione: Inglese, Italiano

Questa edizione è esaurita. Tuttavia, occasionalmente, si rendono disponibili delle copie. Vi preghiamo di iscrivervi alla nostra lista d'attesa, in modo da potervi informare se questa edizione o altre simili si rendono disponibili.

Registrati ora

This extraordinary Art Edition combines Christo’s personal, signed project book The Floating Piers with the artwork Wrapped Book. In the tradition of Christo and Jeanne-Claude’s wrapped objects and packages of the 1950s and ’60s, this rare piece is crafted in mustard-colored tarpaulin, nodding both to the Italian tradition of arte povera and the waterborne nature of The Floating Piers.

Limited Art Edition of 20 copies (No. 1–20) plus 20 Artist’s Proofs (No. I–XX), with Wrapped Book, 2017, signed and numbered in pencil by Christo. This artwork comes with the limited-edition project book about The Floating Piers, also signed by the artist and Wolfgang Volz
Sold Out
Informarsi presso il negozio TASCHEN più vicino.
Christo and Jeanne-Claude. The Floating Piers. Art Edition No. 1–20 (Wrapped Book)

Christo and Jeanne-Claude. The Floating Piers. Art Edition No. 1–20 (Wrapped Book)

35000

Making the Floating Piers

Christo’s personal project book with original artwork Wrapped Book

Limited Art Edition of 20 copies (No. 1–20) plus 20 Artist’s Proofs (No. I–XX), with Wrapped Book, 2017, signed and numbered in pencil by the artist, 32 x 30 x 8 cm (12.6 x 11.8 x 3.1 in.)

From June 18 to July 3, 2016, 100 kilometers east of Milan and 200 kilometers west of Venice, The Floating Piers by Christo and Jeanne-Claude allowed 1.2 million people to walk on water. The project, comprising 100,000 square meters of shimmering saffron fabric atop a modular floating dock system of 220,000 high-density polyethylene cubes, created a three-kilometer walkway across the surface of Lake Iseo, connecting the mainland to the islands of Monte Isola and San Paolo.

“It is all about walking,” said Christo of the project. “Including the stretches on the land, you have to walk five kilometers to appreciate the project, the constantly changing views, the lake, the mountains, the other visitors. All these things together are the final artwork.” The experience was as tactile as it was visual, a multisensory wonder of undulating fabric, shimmering yellow, and ever-shifting light upon the water.

In this personal project book, signed and designed by Christo himself, the artist presents this extraordinary environmental work from start to finish. On 846 pages, he reveals the couple’s earliest concept of a floating surface on water back in 1970 through renewed interest in the project, research into possible locations, technical developments, material production, and the final 16-day experience with enraptured visitors from around the world.

This limited Art Edition combines the project book with a 24 x 24 cm swatch of the project’s original dahlia yellow fabric as well the extraordinary artwork, Wrapped Book. In the celebrated wrapping tradition of Christo and Jeanne-Claude, this extremely rare piece nods to the artists’ wrapped objects and packages of the 1950s and ’60s as well as their larger scale wrapping projects around the globe, including Wrapped Reichstag and Wrapped Trees. Crafted in mustard-colored tarpaulin, it evokes both the Italian tradition of arte povera as well as the waterborne nature of The Floating Piers.
L'artista

Christo (1935–2020) e Jeanne-Claude (1935–2009) hanno lavorato insieme dal 1961. Tra i loro progetti su larga scala si annoverano Wrapped Coast, Australia, 1968–69, Valley Curtain, Rifle, Colorado, 1970–72, Running Fence, Sonoma and Marin Counties, California, 1972–76, Surrounded Islands, Biscayne Bay, Florida, 1980–83, The Pont Neuf Wrapped, Paris, 1975–85, The Umbrellas, Japan–USA, 1984–91, Wrapped Reichstag, Berlin, 1971–95, Wrapped Trees, Riehen, Switzerland, 1997–98 e The Gates, Central Park, New York City, 1979-2005.

Il fotografo

Wolfgang Volz (nato a Tuttlingen nel 1948) ha lavorato con Christo e Jeanne-Claude dal 1972, occupandosi, fra l’altro, della fotografia delle opere. Durante i progetti Wrapped Reichstag e Wrapped Trees e nell’installazione di The Wall è stato direttore tecnico per la realizzazione delle opere. Da questa stretta collaborazione sono nati molti libri e più di 300 mostre in musei e gallerie di tutto il mondo. Wolfgang Volz vive e lavora a Stoccolma.

Christo and Jeanne-Claude. The Floating Piers. Art Edition No. 1–20 (Wrapped Book)
Edition of 20Original artwork in tarpaulin, 32 x 30 x 8 cm (12.6 x 11.8 x 3.1 in.), accompanied by hardcover volume in slipcase, 29 x 27 cm (11.4 x 10.6 in.), with piece of original project fabric, 846 pages

ISBN 978-3-8365-6117-4

Edizione: Inglese, Italiano
Scarica qui le immagini del prodotto
0 Valutazioni

Non sono state ancora pubblicate recensioni per questo articolo. Sii il primo a valutare questo prodotto.